Where Courage Calls

Where Courage Calls: A When Calls the Heart NovelWhere Courage Calls: A When Calls the Heart Novel by Janette Oke

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan – A special companion story to Hallmark Channel’s When Calls the Heart TV series.

“Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected. Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outing her father’s wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching positing in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister’s visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she’s had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?”

In Where Courage Calls, we journey with Beth Thatcher for her one-year stay in the tiny, beyond remote mining town of Coal Valley where she takes on the assignment as teacher. With her privileged upbringing, she is nowhere near prepared for what she is about to take on. But we soon see that as she is true to God’s calling on her life, she flourishes in her abilities and her love for Coal Valley and it’s residents and all that it brings into her life.

I truly enjoyed this book. The main character, Beth, was so inspirational in her ongoing desire to honor God and her calling to teach. Her character is caring, compassionate and courageous. Even as a fictional character, she has inspired me to look again at my own heavenly relationship and His call on my life. In short, Beth will make you want to do better.

In addition to Beth, we meet the cast – Molly, Edward, Jarrick, Julia and some of the widowed miners wives and best of all the children. The author has an amazing ability to bring each character to life to the point that you can see them as they interact… you become part of the story.

It is not clear if this is going to be a series of book, if it is, I will be sure to read the ongoing adventures of Beth and the tiny town of Coal Valley.

*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book through the Bethany House Blogger Review Program, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

*Reviews of this book were posted at the following locations:
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Deeper Shopping, and on my blog at http://titus3.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

This book is available online at
Deeper Shopping Books and Bibles


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.